jump to navigation

A Just Burden of Proof January 10, 2012

Posted by johnhemry in Uncategorized.
trackback

Also being reissued soon are the first two books in the Sinclair series (the first and I think only legal thriller military sf series).  These books were liked by those who read them the first time around, but too few people read them.  Now’s your chance.  I’ll be posting the great new covers for both A Just Determination and Burden of Proof soon.  Determination will come out again in May, while Burden reappears in hard copy in August.

Comments»

1. Zak R. - February 27, 2012

My whole post is kind of long, so if you don’t feel like reading it, here’s the gist:
I loved these books, and will we get to see what Mars is like any time soon?
============
I can’t wait to see the new covers! I can’t guarantee I will purchase the reprints (especially since the paperbacks actually look pretty nice, and I haven’t been a huge fan of the Lost Fleet covers so far), but I may end up wearing out my old copies soon from re-reading them, so I might just need some tougher hard-backs!

I know you’re incredibly busy with two active book series now, but is there any chance we’ll get to see details of Paul’s adventures (in or out of the court-room) on Mars sometime soon? One of the things I love so much about these novels is their junior-officer perspective, which is so rare in fiction, not just science fiction. Admittedly, that might be because JOs don’t get to make many of the interesting or important decisions that drive plot, and they are usually only noticeable when screwing up or whining about the decisions of senior officers that they had neither the experience nor information to understand, but you did a great job of portraying that (exhausting, terrifying) life in a fascinating and compelling way. I also love the level of detail into the minutia of naval life, and how (often, little) that would change in space The balance you achieved between boring us to death with those details and using those details to enhance realism (and prognosticate as SF writers do) was masterful (in my personal opinion).

This means that whenever I finish *Against All Enemies* become extremely frustrated at not knowing what you were going to do with the whole Mars angle! Is it an orbital station, or will he be on the surface? Or might he be assigned to a local patrol vessel? Will they actually need an experienced operations officer, or will his politically-motivated transfer be an annoyance to their command structure, too? And, of course, just how much more complex do the fractured international politics of sol-system exploration get when you’re talking about an actual planet with actual resources and LAND?! Don’t get me wrong, it’s great to hear about asteroid settlement and enforcement of claims to transit lanes in relation to shifting planetary orbital geometries (no, really!), but there’s just a lot more to get in trouble with on a planet.

So anyway, I completely understand if nothing happens on that front in the next decade or so, I just wanted to voice (er, type?) my support for the re-introduction of this series,and hopefully more continuation.


Leave a Reply

