jump to navigation

Supergirl gives me a Reality Check May 29, 2012

Posted by johnhemry in Uncategorized.
trackback

I spent last weekend in Baltimore at Balticon, which included the chance for a lot of meetings with people I hadn’t seen in a while.  It also included an autograph session.  One of the things writers learn about autograph sessions is that while a very few authors attract long lines and big crowds, most of us can expect autograph sessions to involve at least some alone time.  Still, if even one person comes over to get an autograph and tell you how much they like your work, it’s great for the ego.  As I was sitting at the autograph table at Balticon, I saw Supergirl approaching.  The costume was well done, and the woman wearing it could carry it off really well.  Supergirl walked right up to me.  Supergirl smiled at me.  Supergirl said “is the person giving out cookies still here?”  No, I said, that person had left half an hour ago.  “Oh, thanks,” Supergirl said.  And then Supergirl left.

Comments»

1. bridell - May 29, 2012

Some are into great writing, others more interested in free cookies.

That said, I think I would bring some cookies next time. Just in case.

2. ryanmercer - May 29, 2012

Aww bummer 😦

3. Teimoor - May 29, 2012

What do women know anyways!!! I hope you plan on visiting the UK (specifically London ) soon! I’ll wear my superman costume….

4. Teimoor - May 29, 2012

What do women know eh! Even a super one!
*hides from wife*
Any plans of visiting the uk? Specifically London?

johnhemry - June 6, 2012

The next time I’ll probably be in London is 2014, for the Worldcon there. Unless a publisher or convention pays my way before then. Sorry!

5. Fred - May 29, 2012

I agree with you, “bridell”…Here in distant Argentina are good Science Fiction writers, but nobody outside this Country knows about them, because, among other problems-mainly politicals-Government had closed all imports, including books; can you belive that? Well, after this distraction, my question: Who is that “Supergirl”? Scarlett Johansson perhaps…?

6. Jonathan Brand - May 30, 2012

That’s what happens in Baltimore. Come to Michigan sometime and you will at least get one fan coming up to the table with an entire stack of books for you to sign….just saying. 🙂 LOL


Leave a Reply

