jump to navigation

Growing up June 24, 2012

Posted by johnhemry in Uncategorized.
trackback

I had that moment today, watching my youngest son walking off down the boarding way of a jet, on his way to a week at Space Camp.  I remember being him, looking ahead with a sense of hope and more than a little anxiety to a life in which my family would be what I made it instead of being something that surrounded me and defined me.  He’s a few years away from college yet, but he’s taken the first steps.  And now I really know how my mother felt when she watched me walk away down a jet ramp so many years ago.  I am incredibly proud of him.  He’s come such a long ways and almost fully recovered from the autism that almost claimed him.  He is smart and clever and interested in so much.  But it seems like only yesterday that he was proudly wearing a Bob the Builder costume at Halloween and seriosuly asking the people we met if they needed anything fixed.  I am so proud that he has grown so much, but God it was hard to watch him walk away.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

